Mineola Chruch Sale Mix Tapes (1992, Texas)

mineoalchurchtapesWell, it’s no secret at this point that my turntable is on the fritz. I need a new stylus. Which, in case you haven’t shopped for one in the last ten years, are not an item that can be purchased at Best Buy.

Have no fear! Like any good Girl Scout I am “Always Prepared” and I have a nice emergency stockpile of music to sustain critical blog functions until I get the records spinning again.

These tapes came from a roadside yard sale at a church in Mineola, Texas. I picked them up over Memorial Day weekend. This was a very weird yard sale. In addition to an average selection of dishes, baby clothes and paperback books there was a large table of leather clothing. Bras, vests, chaps, shorts and pants– all in black leather. They offered to make me a deal but luckilly I settled on these tapes instead. (This would be a much different blog if I had chosen the chaps instead…)

There is a million little details in these tapes that strike me. The handwriting. The songs. But especially the abbreviation she uses for The Scorpions – “The Scorps”. I can’t refer to them as anything else now.

In the book “Mix Tape: The Art of Cassette Culture” Leah Singer calls the mix tape a “powerful way to reveal who you are.” I think thats sometimes true, but I don’t think that is the case here. These are fun and unpretentious, much like the hair metal they contain. Sometimes a mix tape is just a mix tape I guess, something to listen to during a hot Texas summer.

Heaven – Warrant

Heaven’s Trail – Tesla

Can’t Explain – “Scorps”

Makin A Mess – “Skids”

Kickstart My Heart – “Crue”

Devil’s Daughter – “Ozzy”

Rock You Like A Hurricane – “Scorps”

Rise To It – Kiss

Dr. Feelgood – “Crue”

Since You Gone – Cars

Mineola Church Sale Mix (download&stream)

3 responses to “Mineola Chruch Sale Mix Tapes (1992, Texas)

  1. Jenny Johnson

    You need to visit the Needle Doctor in Minneapolis, he could fix you right up.

    Jenny

  2. Jenny Johnson

    Absolutely it’s real. He’s only open M-F, and until 6, so us working gals have to make an effort to get there. Check out the web site: http://www.needledoctor.com/

Leave a Reply

