Old Fashioned Waltz / Hurt Me – Bob Bowness (Relco Records)

bownessThe mysterious Relco Records strikes again! This record was found in Chanute, Kanass, and boy, did it make my day. Having already stumbled upon one of these gems, I was well acquainted with their charms. The M P M featured a Relco release back in February, the strange and wonderful Robby England singing “I Feel Good (When I’m With You)”. Mr. England even chimed in on the comments, letting us know that single went to #1 in Mankoto, Minnesota.

Here we have two tracks by Bob Bowness. Both are the best kind of country, sad and sappy. Pedal steel on decades old dusty grooves give this track a flavor that borders on David Lynch-y weirdness. Written by Craig Roads and Greg Adams.

“I’ll never forget the first time I saw her / wearing green velvet and lace”

Old Fashioned Waltz – Bob Bowness (download&stream)

The vocals really come out on the B-side, which in my opinion is the stand out track. Having absolutely no idea when this was released I don’t know which contemporaries to compare him to, but I definitely hear some George Jones and maybe even a little Buddy Holly, however poorly imitated they may be. This one is written by Don Lewis.

“I realized you were using me / for a good times sake / sometimes thats almost / more than I can take”

Hurt Me – Bob Bowness (download&stream)

2 responses to “Old Fashioned Waltz / Hurt Me – Bob Bowness (Relco Records)

  1. Thanks for making my day, The M P M!

  2. Hey, thanks for the shout! …I can’t say I was aware of Relco records until now. I must admit, these tunes are painfully awesome. I haven’t dug through my 45’s in quite some time. I’ll have to keep my eye out for Relco when I do. I’ll let you know if I find any. ciao!

Leave a Reply

