Larry Bright – Bye, Bye, Texas b/w I Saw Her Standing There (Original Sound, 1971)

Two seconds after I finished taking a photo of this record I dropped my phone on it and cracked it. Which is a real bummer because this was a great track. And it’s not likely I will ever see this again. Are you playing your tiny violin for me?

This is (was?) #103 on the Original Sound label. Larry Bright and OS both had minor hits in the 60’s, but by the 70’s both had seen better days. “Bye, Bye, Texas,” is a nice original number, uptempo and about Texas, of course. The flip side is one of the worst cover versions ever of one of my favorite Beatles songs, “I Saw Her Standing There.” It’s sooo bad y’all. But let’s focus on the positive. Which is that Side A is pretty good and you should check it out. And that at least I ripped a copy of the good side before I destroyed this record.  And that I will most def be on the lookout for some of the earlier Original Sound stuff.

Larry Bright – Bye, Bye, Texas

Leave a Reply

